Critters and beasties

Was going to title this ‘Critters and Varmints’ but I think a varmint is more of a furry creature. Critter is a great word though, it covers just about anything from cute tiny robbers (raccoons) to giant mice (opposums) and big hairy spiders. You will note though that I haven’t taken any pics of spiders. I don’t like things that can attack me before I shoot them. With a camera obviously. It’s a bit over-the-top to blast a spider with a shotgun. Not that I kill them anyway, I always try and throw them outside, but sometimes Dawg gets to them first and eats them. He’s a big critter-eating critter.

froggy lowres
Frog

He tried to spend the winter indoors last year when I brought the Hibiscus bush back inside. I would have been happy with that except he decided not to hibernate and hop around the living room. Bye Froggy. I hope you survived after I took you back outside (I buried him in the mulch)

tomato worm lowres
Tomato Worm

Warning! You may never eat tomatoes again after finding this giant critter in your plants 😦 I refuse to pick tomatoes now. I make the other minions in my family do it for me.

Grasshopper2
Grasshopper

I think it’s a grasshopper anyway. It’s cute. Check out the smile for the camera!

Moth
Moth

I think this might have been the prototype for the Stealth Bomber…

7420896690_d64eca3a40_o
Praying Mantis

Green and purple – he was so nice to pose against the gladioli for me.

snake smaller
Snnnnnnaaaaaaake!

Was just a wee toaty one though. It was cute.

7973963694_3c97445c95_o
Cricket

Just love the sound of the crickets and the tree frogs in the evening here. Don’t like them so much when they try and come in the house.

 

Dead bug lowres
Not a Cockroach – Dung Beetle maybe?

At least I think it’s a cockroach. Whatever it was it was dead (hence the funny angle) I’m not too keen on cockroaches (even when they’re dead!)

*Edited – Dung Beetle is the new ID. Cockroaches/dung beetles, they’re all too big, too ugly, too scarey!

7426771640_06b7a12dd5_o
Dragonfly

These are so hard to photograph. I got lucky here with this one.

Funny story – I don’t mind bugs, but I hate slimy-wormy-sluggy-things. Maggots give me the heebie-geebies. But one time back in Scotland in the kitchen of my first flat I ended up standing on a slug. It squished right between my toes. I can still picture my husband looking at me going “What the heck?!?” as I’m prancing around the living room squealing like a big girls blouse whilst rubbing my foot across the carpet. Kind of like a bull does before he charges. Not a happy memory.

I’m currently trying my hardest to capture a photograph of the Fireflys (or Lightning Bugs as they’re called around here) Every eveningΒ they are fabulous when they fly up close to you and they fly pretty slowly too, but so far I haven’t been able to shoot one. Again, with a camera.

 

16 thoughts on “Critters and beasties

    1. Thanks Laura. These were all taken with my Pentax K5 and I think I had my Tamron 90mm lens on for most of the shots. I love that lens, it’s great for portraits and it’s really sharp. Best lens I have πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. I’m the person you see who is always surrounded by midgies/mosquitos and covered in bites. Even black house flies bite you here, so no. I’d rather have snakes than midgies!

      Ha, yes! I reckon you’ve solved the mystery of the Loch Ness monster!!! It’s really just a giant tomato worm! πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Hey Rover, even if you don’t like snakes you would still be fine round here. I’ve only ever seen 3 snakes in the (nearly) 6 years I’ve lived here. There are only 4 poisonous snakes in Illinois (according to Google) and I’ve only seen a Water Moccasin (Cottonmouth) once swimming in the lake. The snake that is. Not me.
      I did read something once though that said you are never more than 6feet from a snake at any time when you’re outdoors…..

      Like

  1. Great pics… I think that isn’t a cockroach BTW. Having had a couple to examine closely, they are quite different. It’s probably some sort of dung beetle. Love the dragonfly, they are so difficult to pin down (not literally of course) you did well πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve wanted the Tamron 70-200mm for ages now but I ended up buying s cheaper lens with bigger zoom for my holidays Sigma 18-300 instead. The main reason I didn’t buy the Tamron was the size of it. It’s not really a walkabout lens for short people who don’t have Popeye sized muscles. I’m happy with the Sigma but I don’t think it’s nearly as good as the Tamron would have been.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

