Photography 101: Treasure

This was a difficult theme. There are so many things I treasure, but how to photograph them? So after thinking it about it all yesterday I came to the conclusion that photographs themselves were a treasure. The ability to have memories to look back on (and not just rely on the rusty grey cells) was something to treasure. And photographs of people are of course the most treasured ones of all. This was all my poor old brain could come up with so bear with me and I’ll explain my thinking.

Treasured moments
Treasured moments

This is a portrait of a 97 year old Great, Great Grandmother. She is my friends gran and I was shooting a baby (her Great, Great Grandson) when I turned round and candidly caught this moment.

The family treasure this photograph because of who she is to them.

She treasures the photograph because of her dogs.

I treasure the photograph because it is one of my favourite portraits I have ever captured. I think I managed to catch the contentment of an elderly woman, surrounded by her own treasures, her loving family (and dogs) and also because I think she is beautiful.

So what I was trying to say (in my kind of long-winded and confusing way) is treasure the moments and memories my blogging friends.

8 thoughts on “Photography 101: Treasure

    1. Thank you Sir Dookes 🙂
      I love this shot, not because it’s technically perfect, but because it’s a perfect moment in time (if that makes sense)
      I’m not making much sense to anyone today, least of all myself! :-s

      Like

      1. Yeah, it makes sense. It’s good because it isn’t technically perfect and now you are getting it…most great shots are not at all technically perfect, that’s the essence of what makes them great…!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment