WPC: Delta

I wasn’t sure if the topic for this week was ‘Delta’, ‘Change’, ‘Transition’ or what…. but the thing that got stuck in my mind was Delta and of course what is the biggest Delta in the USA but the Mississippi Delta. I haven’t actually been to the Delta of the river as such, but I have crossed the Mississippi several times going to Memphis and also up in the Quad Cities in Illinois and when it merges with the Ohio on my route to Nashville and of course it’s part of the culture in New Orleans, which I was fortunate enough to visit a few years ago (I even paddled my feet in it). Anyway this week it’s a few shots of the Mississippi I’m showing y’all from N’awlins (like my accent?)

The first is a shot of the Creole Queen Paddle Steamer which I had played around with in Photoshop to give it an aged feel.

Mississippi lowres
Paddle steamer on the Mississippi

This next shot was taken from the City of New Orleans train window somewhere in Louisiana. I also aged it in Photoshop to give a bygone-effect. 16 hours on a sleeper train to N’awlins, playing ‘Phase Ten’ card game with friends and watching the scenery pass by. Good times.

Fuel dock lowres
Gas Beer Food Bait – what more could you ask for?

Delta

14 thoughts on “WPC: Delta

  1. “Good morning, America, how are you?
    Say, don’t you know me? I’m your native son
    I’m the train they call the City Of New Orleans
    I’ll be gone five hundred miles when the day is done.”

    One of my favourite songs and one of my favourite trains!
    Thanks for the memory jog Alba.
    Dookes

    Liked by 1 person

  2. After reading N’awlins for the second time I realized you are referring to New Orleans. Indeed quite an accent. As you also throw in Memphis and Nashville I assume you like country music. Is there country music in Scotland? And by the way in the unlikely event of the cabin depressurizing and us playing Scrabble will it be done in American or English. American surely have less uses for a u. Just googled phase 10 don’t know it

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you – I’ve been practicing my accent (and it still sounds like the west of Scotland 😜)
      I like all kinds of music, even country 😜 although not it it’s too twangy, but my music of choice for a night out would be blues actually. In saying that I’m going to see Queen next week in Chicago so that’s not really blues.
      No, we only have bagpipe music in Scotland 😁 (joking 😜)
      Hah, I never thought about the ‘u’s’ in scrabble. My scrabble set is British so it has the normal amount of u’s.
      Phase Ten is a version of ‘Rummy’ and is a lot of fun.
      Phew – what a lot of answers in one reply Abrie πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

