WPC: Security or my fabulous guard dog

Dawg takes his position as my personal guard dog very seriously. If he’s not sleeping outside my bedroom door he’s underneath my feet at the computer desk when I’m working. He’s my furry shadow. Of course if it was up to him he’d sleep IN the bedroom with me, or even ON the bed, but I’m not into pets in the bedroom. Under the computer desk has it’s own hazards as well – he’s likely to be run over with a wheel from the chair or, more likely, put my feet to sleep as he forces all feelings out of my toes by lying on my feet.

13043412_1143393899046291_3223034664418308319_n
Whatcha doing? I help? Whereya going? I come?

His favourite ‘on-guard’ position is upside down with all four feet in the air. I’m almost certain any burglars who managed to get in our house would be caught because they’d trip over him! Once he’s sleeping and snoring (yes, he snores) only the words “Walkies” or “Cheese” can awaken him. Don’t let his sweet angelic sleeping face fool you though, he’s like a ninja when someone dares to walk past our house, and God forbid anyone who actually comes to the door and rings the doorbell! If anyone wants a sound recording of what a ferocious guard dog who will eat you if you enter his domain sounds like then drop me a line. Of course once you’re actually inside the house he’s more likely to knock you to the ground and slabber all over you. He’s a 76lb lap dog who loves nothing better than to try and fit on my lap, especially when I’m reading, which is very inconvenient! From his early morning squirrel patrol to his (barking) conversations with all the neighbouring dogs he likes to make sure the world is secure enough for his humans.

Glenn 43
Squirrel patrol reporting for duty. Backyard all safe and secure Ma’am!

Someone once asked me back in Scotland if I wasn’t afraid to walk the dog through the woods on my own? My answer was “Look at my dog. Do you really think anyone will try to grab me with this right beside me?” I was talking about my last dog obviously, but he was also an Airedale. I feel the same here in the USA, Airedales are very protective of their humans. No, I feel very safe and secure with my dog guarding me, whether it’s outside walking or whenever I’m alone in the house.

Glenn42
What hole in my bed? No of course I don’t eat fabric! What do you mean this is my 3rd bed in a year? Darned mice!!

Security

13 thoughts on “WPC: Security or my fabulous guard dog

  1. With apologies to Nature on the Edge, I am about to commit plagiarism: Love your narrative style. I agree with Dawg, those dawggone mice are a natural disaster. Love that first 3D photo – his shiny nose touched my ear. By the way we have a cat called Miaau, my children says it is the only which can say his name…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We had a friend come round, when we were out once. He said the dogs didn’t make a sound, but he saw them move to the edge of the door, waiting for him to break in. Before that, he was always scared of them barking, since then he has been more wary of them going quiet.
    Your dog doesn’t look like he’d say boo to a goose.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. He is a really good dog but I do honestly think he’d protect me if he had to. We were at the vets last week and she clipped his dew claw too close and he yelped and it started bleeding but he didn’t even try to bite or think about being aggressive towards her. I’m sure though if the vet had made me yelp it would have been a different story.
    BTW, I don’t get my dew claws clipped by the vet…. just making sure you understood that part 😜

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

