All about ME!

I’ve just finished Jeffrey Deaver’s latest book (Steel Kiss) and I was going to blog about The Internet of Things and Spamming Fridges and all the other ways you can be spied upon online, then WordPress tells me this is my 100th post! Woohoo…. go me!!! So I’ve decided to tell you a little bit about me as I have picked up some new followers after doing the Photo 101 course. Welcome, come on in, grab a wine/beer, some snacks and lets mingle…. said the worst mingler in the world! Small talk and me just don’t go together I’m afraid.

So Hi, how are you doing? Glad to have met you here in Blogland. Who am I, how did I get here and why have I ended up blogging I hear you ask? (humour me!)

Loch Lomond lowres
Home – Loch Lomond, Scotland

Well I’m a British ex-pat living in the Mid-West USA. I moved here in 2010 with my family from Ayrshire in Scotland and have loved every minute of our adventure here. When they closed my husband’s factory down in Scotland he got offered a transfer with his company and basically they offered him anywhere in the world they had a factory, but I don’t speak French tres bien, nor Belgian and I refused to go to India, China or Poland so the USA was the sensible choice for us. Plus my family had all lived in the USA for over 20 years so I knew what I was moving to. Funny story – a week after I got married my mum, dad and sister all moved from Scotland to the USA Mid-West, then 20 years later when we moved to the Mid-West they all moved from the Mid-West to Florida! Do you think they’re trying to tell me something? I dragged a 15 year old girl and a 13 year old boy away from all their family and friends in Scotland and my daughter declared her life was over! Son didn’t really care, as long as they have electricity to plug in his x-box he was happy…. It took about 2 days for them to settle in at school and they haven’t looked back once! Daughter is now set to graduate college in December and son is a Freshman and has the whole world in front of him! I couldn’t be prouder of both of them.

Lake
Home now – somewhere in Illinois

Anyway, back to me! I work freelance from home as a Graphic Designer, but I’m actually a wannabe photographer. That’s not true, I’m actually a wannabe spy, but it’s hard to get spying gigs in the prairies. Sometimes I manage to sell a photograph and that keeps me happy for a while. I did try my hand at portraits for a while, but so much work for very little money and so much stress was taking away the enjoyment of photography, so it’s back to a hobby for me now and I’m loving it again. Working from home leaves LOTS of time for messing around on t’internet and that’s where blogging comes in. I decided last year to try and blog about my photographs… so here I am!

Well that’s me. Pretty boring, middle-aged, music-loving, read-a-holic blogger. With a dog. What else would you like to know? If you would like to know more you can ask me questions in the comments and I’ll answer truthfully. Obviously I’m not going to tell you my bank account number or anything silly like that (BTW my bank account is VERY silly – remember I have 2 kids in college!) So go on. Ask me any question.

 

 

20 thoughts on “All about ME!

    1. Thanks for you questions mywords 🙂
      I really only got into photography in 2008 when I discovered photography could be artistic! Up till then I’d only taken family snapshots. I love to take portraits (even though I hate doing portraits for money!) I love to capture candids and try and capture the ‘real’ person in the shot.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Congrats on 100 posts. 🙂 Great to find out more about you Alba. We sound similar in so many ways. Tell me, how do you cope working from home as a freelancer? For me I often miss the social interaction of going to an actual workplace.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Miriam,
      Yes, that’s definitely the hardest part about working from home. When I moved here I missed all my friends and colleagues SO much (still do) but now I have friends here I can call and ask if they want to meet for coffee or go for lunch. It almost makes up for the extended tea-breaks we used to have 😉 I love the freedom of working from home though and being able to nip out on errands and taking days off when I need to.
      Best decision I ever made 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Perfect subject for a blog. It’s a big thing, moving to a new country, but I suppose once you have taken a picture of a calm Loch Lomand with a blue sky above it you get to a point where “my work here is done”.
    Ok, a question. What is the best book you have read that nobody else has heard of? You know, when you tell people about a book and they look back at you all blank and you end up thinking you imagined it.
    For the bonus ball. How did you get used to the scale of America compared to Scotland. I remember walking down the main street in Fort William, talking to a friend on the other side of the road without shouting, in America I’m sure I would need binoculars just to have seen him.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Without a doubt ‘Shadow of the Wind’ by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. I’m not sure if it’s big in the UK, but no-one here in the States has heard of it. It’s such a beautifully written book with a bit of supernatural, a bit of mystery, a bit of love and a huge bit of awesomeness! Most definitely in my top ten of books.
      It does take a bit of getting used to, it’s H-U-G-E! Although the town I live in isn’t too big the nearest ‘big’ town is an hour away. When I lived in Scotland it was only 20 minutes to Glasgow and I miss the convenience of that. My husband likes to tell people I will drive for an hour to buy a loaf…. which isn’t all that inaccurate if I’m honest! One of the strangest things to wrap your head around is the different time zones. If I drive 45 minutes east I go through a time warp (well, that’s how I like to think of it!) More than once we’ve flown out of Indianapolis and forgotten about the hour time difference and have had to leg it through the terminal to catch the plane…

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Why didn’t India appeal? (I think I get China and Poland, though there might have been some fabulous spying opportunities…) PS: Thanks for that great review about a really good book that nobody has heard of 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wouldn’t have been able to handle the poverty in India. Husband told me that just outside the wall around the hotel they put him up in (in Kolkata) is a rubbish heap and every morning when the taxi took him to the factory he would see children raking through the tip looking for food. That would break my heart to see it everyday. I’d end up adopting them all. I’m always getting into trouble here for giving money away to beggars on the streets of Chicago, but if I see children begging with them it really upsets me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah, yes, I do get that. And Kolkata is amongst the worst. To give or not to give? Mrs. B adopts the common sense attitude that you can’t give to everyone but I have a pocket specially reserved. So far I’ve stopped short of adopting everyone, though…

        Like

  4. Hi Alba you don’t know me but now that I have stumbled onto this blog, can I please have your bank account number (I just want to verify it to protect you against spying fridges), I assure you that I am very trustworthy. Kindest regards Abrie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha… of course, hold on till I find the number! If you could deposit a few thousand I’d be very grateful.
      My fridge will send you a confirmation email as soon as the money is received. 😁

      Like

      1. I attended a forensic workshop a,while and the facilatator actually mentioned that even fridges nowadays can store data and that the data can be retrieved for forensic purposes if need be. I gave him some time to blabber on and then asked that in a fridge is confiscated for forensic purposes if it is by definition a cold case…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

