Photo 101: Street

As I said yesterday, I don’t live in the most photogenic place, and as an interloper I don’t have any particular fondness for the town I live in. Plus theย main street is a feast of McDonalds, Taco Bell, Pizza Hut and Subways. Around the town square it’s a little bit more photogenic with second hand bookstores, pubs, lawyers offices with canopies, coffee shops and a big courthouse slap-bang in the middle of it all. But it still wasn’t very inspiring for photographs. So I took myself off to a nearby town that seems to be stuck in the past. As I was walking around snapping shots I could totally picture when the street used to be made of dirt instead of tar and they tied up their horses in front of the saloon instead of parking their ginormous trucks!

IMGP7499

With that thought in mind I did a little Photoshopping to create the look I had in my head – I even removed the lampost…

Greenup street aged

Yeah, I don’t have enough real work to do today. Off to see if I can find any cowboys now!

14 thoughts on “Photo 101: Street

  1. A suggestion: If your town is unphotogenic, maybe try photographing just how unphotogenic it is! Nothing can develop your skills as much as trying to take beautiful photographs of subjects that are not so beautiful! Or finding that one detail in the mundaneness that is beautiful, another approach worth trying.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

