Photo 101: Home – it smells like rain

rain leaves

Why does home smell like rain?

Well I’ve been living in the Mid-West USA for nearly 6 years now but home is Scotland (the country, not the small Mid-West town) and I am still in love with the weather here – real snow and hot summers and very little rain! Whenever it’s a dull grey day we always say to each other “Aye, it’s a guid Scottish day today!” and I can always smell whenever it’s going to rain. The rain is very rarely persistent all-day ‘dreich’ rain like we get back home in Scotland. It’s mostly the Monsoon-type where it pours down then just as suddenly stops. So to have a rainy day (like today – just when I wanted a nice day to start the Photo 101 course) is very unusual. That’s why home smells like rain.

As an aside, the Mid-West is not the most photogenic of places, but I’m going to try and take fresh photographs every day and not use any of my stock of old ones. Last year I was a newbie blogger and did the Photo 101 but sometimes reverted back to here’s one I did earlier – check out last year’s interpretation of ‘home’ hereΒ https://alba1047.wordpress.com/2015/03/02/photography-101-home/ Scotland, one of the most beautiful countries in the world (although Wales comes in close, eh D?) πŸ˜‰

11 thoughts on “Photo 101: Home – it smells like rain

  1. Nice post and photo. I love macro photography. Wish I could hear you talk about home in a Scottish accent. πŸ™‚ This is my third (and last) time to participate in Photo101. I hope it will be as fun for you this time as it has been for me each time!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello, fellow Photo 101 participant. I was faced with the same dilemma of having a rainy first day of class today as I drove home in increasing rainfall, but when I reached my house I found that home was home – wet or dry. Thanks for the inspiring post and photo.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I liked your photos. My wife’s father’s ancestors were from Nova Scotia (Cape Breton) and Scotland (Isle of Eigg, Skye, etc) – Dunlop, MacDonald, Campbell, MacKinnon. We had a wonderful trip to Scotland, England, and Wales about 15 years ago. My grandfather and family were from Cornwall. Would love to visit again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

